One of the Things You Dread Most In Life

imagesSitting in my chair reflecting back over the last two weeks. My father, who has Alzheimer’s, has taken a turn for the worse. For the last two weeks he has not know who any of us are. It is a weird feeling that first time your when one of your parents does not remember who you are. I cannot imagine what it must be like for my Mom. They have been together since she was a teenager.

He would have bouts where I would have to go and try to calm him down; which is normal for someone with Alzheimer’s. This week was the peak and we had find a Nursing Home to place him in. This is also a hard step for any family. You hate to do it and there is always a bit of guilt, but it was physically impossible to continue care for him at their house. As we adjust we know this will be the best thing we can do for him, but there are a lot of emotions.

Most people struggle with the sovereignty of God at this point when their loved ones battle Alzheimer’s. You wonder what God has in store, and what He is teaching all of us. They are usually lessons we do not want to learn, but some lessons can only be taught in this way. I have learned a lot over the last few years watching my parents deal with this disease. You learn what the marriage vow means when they say“ for better or for worse, in sickness and in health….”  Patience, compassion and sacrifice all go hand in hand.

I don’t know what God has in store for my family, but I do know that He loves my Dad even more than I do. So much that He gave His son for him. Perhaps the greatest lesson in all of this? Learning to trust.

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Personal, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One of the Things You Dread Most In Life

  1. Jim Turner says:

    Good read Mark, praying for you

  2. melissa says:

    Mark, I’m so very sorry.

  3. Mark, we love and are praying for all of you.
    James & Jennifer

Leave a Reply

