Reflecting

images

This past week I had the honor to perform a funeral service for a brother of a friend. As a minister it is always a privilege when someone invites you into the intimate moments of their lives such as a wedding or a funeral. This was one of those special times for me.

Funerals are a time of remembering and reflecting. You have 20-30 minutes to sum up an entire life. I sat and listened to the music and family members tell what they remembered about their loved one. Some were funny and some were very moving. As you watch the family and friends your heart breaks as you see their hearts breaking. I looked to see some of the favorite items of the deceased. My mind wondered to what my own funeral would look like.

What do I want family and friends to remember about me? If they put up my favorite possessions what would they be? What kind of impact will I have had on those around me? Questions I thought about as I listened.  Obviously I want to be remembered as a loving husband and father, but what about everything else? As I thought about the funeral the next couple of days I began thinking about what was important to me. I have four passions in life and 3 of them were the key for me in this thought process and all of them could be summed up in one word – Relationships. I have cleaned out houses when we have moved and when my grandparents passed away. You cannot incorporate all of their possessions into your life. You begin to realize how much stuff we all have and when we die it becomes clutter for someone else.

What lasts? Relationships. God had been dealing with me the last couple of months about “finishing well” in life and moving from success to significance. I can only move to significance when I pour into someone else’s life, and help them with no thought of what is in it for me.

What about you? How do you want to be remembered?

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

