The Theft of Memory by Jonathan Kozol

9780804140973This is the first book I have read by Jonathan Kozol. I found his style to be easy to read and yet he seemed to use a wider range of vocabulary than most writer these days.  What drew me to this story is my own story of parents who are going through a similar journey. I found comfort in being able to relate to what he was feeling and what obstacles that he faced. His honesty and transparency was refreshing and gave you a bond that carried you through the story. I felt like I got to know his dad and appreciated his life and what he contributed.

I appreciated how he brought to the forefront the need for how to care for elderly parents and how expensive that it is. This is a crisis for most of us with parents who are entering this stage of life. The financial drain that will happen for most families will be divesting and will leave many without the care that they will need.

I think most people will walk away from this book feeling like they can relate to the author, but there is also a feeling of helplessness that we have as well. There is nothing we can do to combat Alzheimer’s at the moment. We pray and we do the best that we can. I enjoyed the book and would recommend it for anyone with elderly parents and heath issues.

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

