“The Fold” by Peter Clines

9780553418293

I have not read many science fiction books and I am not sure why. I was looking for something different to read and this came across my radar. This is the first book by this author I have read, but not the first book he has written by any means. I was anticipating a space or time travel story. I am not opposed to those, but this was a welcomed change of pace. He combined some form of travel into these areas, but the bulk of the story was in a realistic setting.

It is hard to talk about this book and not to give the story line away. The vast majority of the book was easy to follow and you kind of knew what was going to happen. However, the author ramped the story up more than I thought he would. It made a huge leap. In some ways it was too much of a gap, but that is the nature of science fiction. I felt the ending could have been a little stronger. I am having this feeling about several books I am reading lately. There is a lot of time building up to the climax and then it seems the ending is kind of an after thought or not quite sure how to end the story.

Over all this was an easy read and a great way to distract myself. I would read another book by the author. I do feel like I need to say that the book had one sex scene and some cuss words. I mention this for the parents who are reviewing for their teenagers who like Sci-Fi. Not that the publisher is targeting teenagers by any means, but I know several teenagers who like to read this type of literature.

 

This book was provided free for me to review by Blogging For Books.

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Fold” by Peter Clines

  1. Gerry Peak says:

    Thanks, Mark. It amazes me that you manage your time so well that you can read as much as you do. You inspire me.

    Gerry

Leave a Reply

