“The Ancient Path” by John Michael Talbot

talbot bookLet me start off by saying I have always been a huge fan of John Michael Talbot’s music and have loved his other books. He had an impact on my life when I was in college and seminary. His music is incredibly worshipful.

Therefore, I really wanted to like this book. I had a certain mindset of how this book would be like from his previous writings, This was different. What made his other books work for me was the sharing of his life and some of this thought. This book was heavy into his theology and just a little of his life. Most people are usually drawn to him and want to know more of his story. This book had some of that, but not enough for me. I think the average person will become lost in his discussion of the Early Father’s writings and theology.

You can tell he is a “thinker” and does not take his relationship with God lightly, and I appreciate that. There are parts that make you stop and rethink some things in your own life. I always like it when an author has that kind of impact. Overall this book was an interesting read, but it helps to have some knowledge of theology. I am not sure the average person looking to remember John Michael Talbot will read all of the book. I think they will skip to the parts of his actual life and make this a quick read.

This book was given to me by logo

for a review

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The Ancient Path” by John Michael Talbot

  1. missy says:

    I almost got this book to review, liking him in college like you. He was new and different then, but now it almost seems as if he’s trying too hard. Sort of overwhelms me, though I tend to like that sort of reading. Your review is perfect. Let’s me know exactly what’s up with him, so thanks. 🙂 And, btw, thanks for getting me into the book reviews. It’s been such fun. (posting from another email address, since I can’t get my wordpress log-in correct!)

    • Mark LaGrone says:

      Glad you are enjoying the reviews. If you ever want to read the book I will be glad to drop it by the shop. I need to swing by there anyway in the next week or so.

Leave a Reply

