Happy Grandparents Day

imagesToday is National Grandparents Day. I was blessed to live within two miles of my Mother’s parents. We were a small, but close family.

I think about my grandparents all the time, but especially on Sunday afternoons. I would go visit them, drink a cup of coffee, and just talk with them. Since I lived close to them they were a huge part of my life and they taught me many things. One of the greatest things they gave me was my spiritual heritage. They taught me the basics of how to live a Christian life, how to love family, give to others, and they were an example of what a Christian should be.

My Grandfather was a deacon and he spent many hours visiting the hospitals and leading people to the Lord. He was a machinist by trade, but he did more work for the Lord than most of us professionals do today. He taught me not only by the words he spoke, but the way he lived his life.

My Grandmother was a woman who knew her Bible! Very few people study like she did. She could discuss anything with you. Even in my years at seminary she still could engage me in what I was learning.

Perhaps most of what I remember is all of the laughter and love. I promise you there is not another family that laughs as much as ours. Attending family reunions was like attending Vaudeville. We taped it one year so my daughter would be able to see everyone in action when she got older. That tape is priceless now.

None of us was perfect, but you knew that no matter what happened in life you were loved. You cannot put a price on that. I thought everyone’s family was like that. However, when I got older I learned that what my family had was rare and special. As my daughter grows up and has her own family one day I hope that she can look back and see love, laughter, and a Godly example of how life is lived out.

So to all of the grandparents out there – Have a great day.

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Grandparents Day

  1. Carol Crawford Davis says:

    I loved loved LOVED Aunt Nez and Uncle Duck!! All of us Crawfords have a special heritage to be proud of!

  2. Gerry Peak says:

    Great blog, Mark. Keep writing, brother.

    Gerry

    Gerry Peak

Leave a Reply

