Family Reunions – Gotta Love them!!

This past weekend we had a family reunion for the Crawford side of my family. We had done some smaller gatherings at Christmas, but we moved to the park this year, different time, and more people were able to come. Like a lot of families when the great grandparents passed away it was hard to get everyone together. Our great grandfather was a preacher in the Ripley Ms. area and he and his wife had four children. This gave us a time to bring all of the decedents together. Some I had not seen since I was a child.

crawford 2
I think it is funny that the man with mild dyslexia and spelling issues was assigned to string together and hang the banner. We will not discuss the time table on that project. I am not sure how families had reunions before Pinterest, but it did add some flavor. I have discovered that Pinterest is nothing but trouble for me. It is a secret online project list which my wife continually adds too. At the moment there are enough projects for at least four more husbands if each one of us lives to be 85. However, that is a post for another day.

fan 1My cousin Jennifer made some fans with pictures of our grandparents ( Pinterest??). The quotes and verses she used were spot on. I have talked a lot about legacy on this blog. This is another example of what it means. The first quote Jennifer used was “We are who we are because they were who they were”. You cannot help but think back to all of the times we saw them and how they modeled their lives. I remember when he would say the blessing at a meal. He would always quote scripture, and not just one or two verses. We are talking chapters at a time. Of course when you are a kid you just want to eat so you can go back out and play. It seemed like it took forever. But that memory stuck. Sometimes it is the little things that have the biggest impact. I am blessed because I could give countless examples.

fan 2On the back of the fan was a verse from Psalms 16:6 “ The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; Yes, I have a good heritage”. I am privileged to have the heritage that I did. He was a preacher, both my grandfather and my father were active deacons, and I am in the Ministry as well. We have had preachers throughout the history in our family, as well as deacons, women’s ministry, writers, and spouses that were in the ministry. Our family has been truly blessed, but it is not something that you can take for granted. My spiritual life and going to heaven is not based on my heritage, but what I personally do and believe. I cannot make spiritual choices for the one’s who come after me either. I can only try to be the example that shows God’s love – not only to them, but to the world as well.

Thanks PawPaw and Grandmother for being the examples you were.

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Family Reunions – Gotta Love them!!

  1. Gerry Peak says:

    I love this blog!

    Gerry

    Gerry A. Peak
    Pastor, Senior Adult Ministries
    2nd Presbyterian Church
    4055 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN, 38111
    (901) 507-4485
    gerry.peak@2pc.org

    This email may contain information that is confidential or pastor-parishioner privileged and may constitute sensitive information. The contents of this email are intended only for the recipient(s) listed above. If you are not the intended recipient(s), you are directed not to read, disclose, distribute or otherwise use this transmission. If you have received this email in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete the transmission.

  2. Laura Sanders says:

    Wonderful post – I’m so glad we will be having our “Reunions” in June of every year 🙂
    Much love, Laura
    BTW, my Pinterest boards are loaded too and I love following Janice 🙂

Leave a Reply

