What Keeps You Going?

UnknownWe have all been there in life. We start an exercise programs dreaming of the day we will have a 6-pack ab, but then three weeks into our new program we find so many excuses of why we cannot get to the gym. Maybe it is our spiritual life. We set goals of memorizing a certain amount of scripture, and extend our quiet time by thirty minutes. We wake up and we have not spent time with God at all that week. You can add in becoming a better person at work, better spouse, better parent and the list just keeps growing.

There is something exciting about starting something new or doing something for the first time, but then over time the newness wears off and we slide back into our old self. We combat this sometimes by staying too busy or continually trying to start new things. We burn ourselves out trying to always do more.

Perhaps the real answer is to let go of several things and decide what few things God really wants you to do. I know what you are thinking: “ I cannot just up and quit a bunch of things; people are depending on me.” or “ You don’t know what my life is like.”. You are right about some of this. People are depending on you and you need to fulfill your obligations. However, many time’s there are things we can give up and maybe the real answer is to not keep adding to the list of responsibilities.

There are seasons in my life when I know I am going to be busy and over committed, but I try to keep those seasons short. I also ask God to give me a passion or a dream that is bigger than me. This gives a real excitement and not one I have to continually add fuel to. I also make sure that I am staying close to God, getting the rest I need, and trying to take care of myself. In this day and age burnout is never too far from any of us.

People often set lofty goals and I am all for goals, but what are some things you need to quit doing to give yourself some margin in your life? Remember to put God first, your spouse second and your family third. Everything else comes after that.

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Personal, Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

