Legacy

There is a lot of talk these days about legacy. What it is and how to leave one. Sometimes the greatest legacies we leave are the one’s we do not think about.

Last week I was visiting the hospital and went in to visit a lady and her mother. The mother was the one who was not feeling well.  Her brother had also just drove in to visit her from North Mississippi We started talking and sure enough there was a connection – this actually happens a lot when you live in Memphis and have relatives in Mississippi  J  He mentioned that a man named Joe Crawford baptized him. I told him that was my great grandfather on my mother’s side. Immediately his eyes watered and he told me of how my great grandfather had baptized he and his brother when they were just boys in a small country church that my great grandfather had pastored. He could not wait to call and tell his brother that he had met me.

Needless to say I was excited and glad we got to meet. I actually have several Ministers and Deacons in my family and I am proud of all of them. My great grandfather has been dead for many years and yet I am still getting the opportunity to meet people he had influenced.

The thing is, my great grandfather never did any of that to leave a legacy or even thought about leaving a legacy. He just went about his business doing what God called him to do. I got to thinking how it was a great moment to meet this gentleman and be associated with my great grandfather for what he had done, but there was nothing that I had done on my own. I was just related to the man who did the work.  In heaven – unlike here on earth, who I am related to does not matter, nor what they did does not matter. Each one of us will stand on the fact that either we believed in God and what Jesus did for us on the cross or we do not. Knowing someone important, being related to someone in the ministry or giving a lot of money will not be what gets us into heaven.

I am grateful for my spiritual heritage and I am doing my best to pass along those important elements to my daughter. We need to build those things into our families, but we cannot rest on the laurels of those who have gone before us. Each day it is our decision to live for Christ.

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

