Missions – My Responsibility?

I was in a meeting a few weeks ago and we were discussing the possibilities of reaching an unengaged, unreached people group. This is an area of the world where no gospel influence has happened. The important aspect of this commitment is that when our church commits to reach this group then they come off of the list for our Missions board and they are totally our responsibility – no one else from our denomination will try to reach them. We were struck by the reality of these people were our responsibility and ours alone. We felt the heavy weight of that decision.

I started thinking and that is always a dangerous thing for me. At what point did I hand off and give away my responsibility for reaching people? Why is the responsibility of lost souls around the world not keeping me up at night?  When was the last time I fasted and prayed about others to the point that God broke me? Don’t get me wrong. I love the mission organizations of the Southern Baptist and they do a great job. BUT – have I been content to write a check and let someone else do the work while I conveniently move on with my life? Shouldn’t I be feeling that weight of responsibility?

Nowhere in the Bible do you read that missions is only for a select few. Dawson Trotman is one of my hero’s of the faith. His prayer was for God to give him continents and God blessed his influence through out the world. The time he took to disciple others gave him a reach into many areas of the world.  The danger we face today is that we do not realize that missions and evangelism is our responsibility as individuals not just the church or an organization. Needless to say God has used this to rearrange what goes on in my quiet time. I pray differently for missions, for my friends who are church planters, and for those who God brings into my path. I am now learning to pray in a different way.  It is my responsibility.

About Mark LaGrone

Discipleship and Assimilation Pastor at Collierville First Baptist Church outside of Memphis, TN.
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

